Sasha Kassis

Updated: Apr 9

Carpenter

Gulf Islands, BC

Canada




Three words that describe you?

Hardheaded, Meticulous, Perseverant


Who are your role models and mentors?

My boyfriend and brothers.


What is your favorite thing about your current job?

I get to live in a lot of different places and build such cool custom homes.

What originally got you interested in your current field of work?

I have a lot of family members who were and are carpenters and I always wanted to try it. Then never wanted to stop.

What career advice would you give to your younger self?

Don’t give up. It will get easier.


When you started your current job, what most surprised you?

How your work experience can change so dramatically just by changing companies.


Do you have an embarrassing or funny story you can share about work or something that has happened at work?

Oh yes. My pants ripped, more than once but this time while I was on top of a wall landing trusses with my boss at the time, who I wasn’t very comfortable with. My face went flaming red when I had to tell him why I had to get down right away.


Have you had to deal with conflict or confrontation while at work? How did you handle it?

So many times, the worst was when I ended up getting a UTI during the first COVID-19 outbreak when I had no access to a bathroom. Due to no clinics being open, I got my antibiotics a little to late and ended up rushing to the hospital with a kidney infection and getting plugged to an IV for about 2hrs. Long story short, I quite my job and filed every report I could.


Do you have any suggestions on how to encourage more women to try a career in the trades?

Talk about how good of a salary they get to have, how great of an environment they can be in and how it’s a job where you get to truly be yourself. I love my job and I would never go back in an office .


Who has had the biggest impact on your career choice?

My boyfriend without a doubt. He showed me almost everything I need to know about framing a house and always pushed me to speak up, defend myself and fight for what I deserve.

What does your family think of your career?

They all encourage me and support me in whatever I do.


If you could do anything, besides what you're doing now, what would you do?

I would get into foraging and western herbal medicine. I’m all about natural remedies when I hurt myself or get sick.


What was the first thing you wanted to be when you grew up?

At the age of 5 I really thought I was going to be a superstar. I loved to sing and dance, still do but people might pay for me to stop instead.


What type of role do you want to take on after this one?

I would love to lead a crew with my partner one day.


What do you remember most about your first job?

How miserable I was on sunny days when I was stuck inside.


How old were you when you started working?

Started construction at 19, I started babysitting at about 12 years old.


What are people always surprised to discover about you?

That I build houses for a living.


Who is your favorite person in the world?

My boyfriend Derick, he’s my best friend.


What is the craziest thing you hope to do one day? 

Live a self sustainable life in the middle of nowhere and raise a family.


Anything else you would like to add or comment on?

Check out my blog and Instagram page .

Www.therunaway.me and Instagram : Sash_mash ️.

Thank you for this opportunity.




222 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All