Leah Applejohn

Welder

Spruce Grove, Alberta

Canada





Three words that describe you?

Cares too much


Who are your role models and mentors?

Probably my mom and a lady name Sandy Suter. My mom because when I wanted to be welder she was 100% on board with it and encouraged me all the way and Sandy because she was one of the first female welders I met and it was amazing to see her be so successful.


What is your favorite thing about your current job?

The people I work with.


What originally got you interested in your current field of work?

I am not really sure, but mostly because I sucked in school and I got to work with my hands and I wanted to try creating art with it.


What career advice would you give to your younger self?

Don’t put up with shit and have more confidence in your skills. Also take another trade or expand your education it will never fail you.


When you started your current job, what most surprised you?

This is hard one, I guess the first thing that comes to mind is how hard night shift is. I don’t work night shift anymore but that was super hard.

Have you had to deal with conflict or confrontation while at work? How did you handle it?

Not a ton of confrontation but definitely harassment. Not really anymore but when I was in my late teens and early 20s for sure. Unfortunately, I was young, so I just didn’t say anything and walked away. Now I would say something, and you don’t have to be rude just firm.


Do you have any suggestions on how to encourage more women to try a career in the trades?

I think when it comes to the trades you really have to like working with your hands and problem solving. I think its just taking the first step. Don’t be afraid to try something new.


Who has had the biggest impact on your career choice?

Maybe my dad and just myself. I knew I could not have a desk job. The opportunity was there so I just wanted to go for it.

What does your family think of your career?

They think its awesome because they reap the benefits, they encourage me to do what makes me happy anyway.


If you could do anything, besides what you're doing now, what would you do?

Well, my current job is in Mining however if I could be a metal artist full time I would.


What was the first thing you wanted to be when you grew up?

A Massage Therapist


What type of role do you want to take on after this one?

Business owner maybe one day but right now its welder and mom.


What do you remember most about your first job?

Working my first 14 hour day and crying because it was super hard for my young 17 year old fragile self hahahahaha

How old were you when you started working?

I started welding school at 16 and my first welding job at 17.


What is the worst job you’ve ever had?

I have worked in a couple of shops where I got harassed pretty bad but work wise I have liked all the work I have done but have worked with shitty people more then anything.


What are people always surprised to discover about you?

That I am a welder and do metal art.

Who is your favorite person in the world?

My son and husband.


What is the craziest thing you hope to do one day?

Open my own shop where I can make art and give people the opportunity to build their own visions.


Anything else you would like to add or comment on?

Stefanie is awesome hehe GO SISTERHOOD!!

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Syd